Posted by: bevmeldrum | October 26, 2007

Fridays Are Different – Making The Move To A Mac

I have finally done it … I have ditched the PC in favour of a new Macbook.

My previous laptop was an HP Tablet 1100c which took 20 minutes to load up and was painfully slow. I do so much work on my laptop it was seriously affecting my productivity. Something had to be done.

I started researching new laptops and found to my surprise that a Macbook was cheaper than a similar spec windows laptop.

I have long been an admirer of the Mac – since back in the early 1990s when I was doing an IT degree but had always used PCs.

The thing that tipped the balance though was that all of my concerns about how easy it would using a Mac in a PC world (my working environment) were all answered one by one.

The problems I thought I would have are listed below:

– moving Word documents between my colleagues
– using a Microsoft Exchange email mailbox
– synchronizing my PDA
– my windows iPod
– having to pay out of MS Office for Mac
– the software created by my company only works on windows – how would I demonstrate it to potential clients
– my budgetting software only works on windows

The solutions to these problems went something like this:

– I can open word documents and save documents as a Word file in pages easily
– my Microsoft Exchange mailbox is set up and works perfectly
– my PDA synchronises with Address Book and iCal using the Missing Sync
– I still have to sync my windows iPod on the old PC that is lying around (my ultimate aim is to just buy a new one)
– stuff MS Office, I use iWork and it only costs £55 and the spreadsheet is so much better than excel … I never used Access anyway
– I use Parallels to run my windows software on my mac – it works perfectly

All my questions were answered so I took the plunge.

It’s Mac all the way for me now – why did I wait so long to change. It is just a much better all round experience and the best thing of all – my Macbook takes 23 seconds to load up!

Responses

  1. […] Bev Meldrum put an intriguing blog post on Fridays Are Different – Making The Move To A MacHere’s a quick excerptI have long been an admirer of the Mac – since back in the early 1990s when I was doing an IT degree but had always used PCs. The thing that tipped the balance though was that all of my concerns about how easy it would using a Mac in a … […]

  2. […] Bev Meldrum Wrote an interesting post today on formorethanprofit.wordpress.comThe first paragraph is here: […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

