Posted by: bevmeldrum | September 26, 2007

Getting Things Done – Part 2 of 3

If you are like me you will at some point have written a to-do list and then just left it. To-do lists do not often seem to work – or rather for most people they don’t work.

GTD takes the to-do list and adds a twist that suddenly makes them much more effective. GTD adds the idea of contexts to to-do lists.

So, if you look at my to-do list you will see different categories including email, computer, at home, at office, errands, calls etc. So that means that if I’m out I can take my ‘errands’ list with me, if I’m at a computer but don’t have internet access then I can do things on the ‘computer’ list,  if I’m early for a meeting I can take out my ‘calls’ list and make all my calls for the day and so on.

For me I use the categories feature on my MS Outlook tasks list. Other people using GTD use 3 x 5 inch record cards held together with a bulldog clip (see Merlin Mann’s Hipster PDA).

Leave a Reply

Categories

