Posted by: bevmeldrum | September 20, 2007

One Sentence Diary

Seals at Scotland’s Haven Bay 

I’ve visited some amazing places in the last week and I’m looking forward to plenty more before I head back to London at the end of next week. I have taken a large of photos trying to capture the memories to make sure I don’t forget the amazing time I am having.

I remembered this week about an idea I’d read on a blog called The Happiness Project. Gretchen, the writer of the blog, came up with the idea of a one sentence diary – a simple way of creating a record of what you have done. It’s a great idea. I’m not a diary or journal writing type of person but this idea really appeals to me. Gretchen writes just one or two sentences in her diary each day just to capture what happened in the day.

I think the reason I like the idea so much is that as someone who forgets things this will just give me a reminder of what I did and when I did it – so I can look back over the months and won’t forget all of the fun things I’ve done. And if I look back over what I’ve done and think I’ve not been having enough fun I can make plans to change that in the coming months.

Yesterday’s diary entry …

“Took some great photos at Duncansby Head. Visited John O’Groats – cold and windy. Had a coffee at the Unique Crafts Shop and walked from there to Scotland’s Haven Bay, got very muddy but was rewarded with the most amazing view and a colony of seals sun-bathing on the rocks.”

Ok, so it’s not a sentence but it didn’t take me long and it will remind me for many years of the wonderful day we had.

To visit the Happiness Project yourself click here

Leave a Reply

Categories

