Posted by: bevmeldrum | September 4, 2007

Personal Mission Statements – Bringing Focus To Your Life

I have just finished ready Habit No. 2 in Stephen Covey’s ‘The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People’. The chapter is entitled ‘Begin With The End in Mind’ and is all about deciding what your values are and using a mission statement to focus your life.

I am a big fan of personal mission statements and I use them a lot with clients – having a phrase or paragraph written out in front of you that can act as your measure for all things in your life provides you with the opportunity to focus on what you want to achieve in your life.

I have a number of different elements to my personal mission statement relating to the different roles I play in my life – a wife, a family member, a friend and a social entrepreneur. The part that relates to my working life is this:

“To empower social entrepreneurs to achieve their full potential.”

So everything that I do and every decision I make in relation to work that I take on, new projects I get involved in has to measure up to this mission statement – if it doesn’t help me to empower social enterpreneurs then I’m not interested and actually that piece of work or project would be done better by someone else.

I recommend reading the chapter in ‘The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People’ for some practical guidance on writing a personal mission statement. 

Alternatively you can try their Mission Statement Builder – I admit I have only had a quick look at this. Alternatively, google ‘write mission statement’ and you’ll find all sorts of tools and resources to help you.

Categories

