Posted by: bevmeldrum | August 7, 2007

Always Getting Better

I have to admit I am a bit of an education junkie. I love learning new stuff and I really enjoy being a student – and not just for the discounts I can get with my NUS card. There has only been 4 years when I haven’t been studying on one course or another. At the moment I’m doing two courses – a adult education training/teaching qualification and my phd which is looking at social enterprise in the voluntary sector. Along with the training courses and books I read I love nothing more than just learning new things.

I may be an extreme case, and maybe some of the courses I end up doing aren’t as useful as they could be or I just don’t put them into practice, but I am a great believer in continuously improving ourselves.

It is very easy when we are so busy with our day-to-day jobs that training or learning opportunities become something that feels like a luxury we can’t afford, particularly in terms of time.

But maybe if we want our future to involve a better or different job, better relationships, a better quality of life or if as social entrepreneurs we just want to improve the impact we are making in our communities we need to make time.

If you set aside time to read just one chapter a day of a personal development book over the course of a year you could read at least 15 new books (based on the average number of chapters of the last 10 books I’ve read and not including weekends or holidays). Just imagine what you could learn.

Alternatively, if you don’t want to do that much reading you can always let someone else do it for you.

Erich at Life Training Online is reading one personal development books a week for a year. You can catch up with his latest post at http://www.lifetrainingonline.com/blog/the-power-of-your-subconcious-mind-untapping-its-potential.htm 

Of course I wouldn’t encourage you to only read their summaries but it is a great way to find out a bit about a book before you decide to read it yourself.

Leave a Reply

Categories

