Posted by: bevmeldrum | July 24, 2007

Save the Cheerleader – Save the World! Part 1

Today’s and tomorrow’s posts are on the topic of heroes – if you don’t get the reference in the title of this blog post I’ll explain it tomorrow. But for now it was amazing seeing Ann again it must have been at least seven years since I saw her last.

I actually wasn’t expecting her to recognise me but she did which was the most amazing moment for me – she has met hundreds of people since my last meeting with her, why should she remember me?

I was reminded of the impact she has had on my life. I’m not sure I can actually explain it adequately.

I would hope that for most of us there is one person, or if we are really lucky, more than one person who is a hero to us.

For me that person is Ann. Having someone like her to teach me when I was just starting out in community development was such an honour. She is a woman of great wisdom and understanding. She taught me not to believe things without questioning them and to ask the right questions of myself and of others and to then ask more questions.

I remember saying years ago, in a jokey fashion, that when I grew up I wanted to be like her. Actually I still do and I still feel such a long way from that goal.

Her input into my life has shaped me professionally and spiritually from the time I spent with her and reading her books. I’m not sure I want to dwell for too long on what type of consultant/trainer I would have been without her input – certainly not as effective as I think I can be now, that much I can say.

It is encounters like the one with Ann the other day that inspire and motivate me for the years ahead.

I want to be continually asking of myself – what can I do to become more like my heroes? What in my life can I improve to make me more effective as a social entrepreneur? What do I need to do on a daily basis to establish new habits so that in 10 years time I am more like my heroes than I am today?

Leave a Reply

Categories

